Monday, May 11, 2009

The Mailing List: May 2009 (#3)


In 2002, Marshall Bruce Mathers II was at the top of the rap, and quite possibly the celebrity world. He had just released his now critically-acclaimed album, "The Marshall Mathers LP," to the controversy and esteem that his first album began for him. It's now 2009, and for the past two years, Em has been laying low, quite possibly a decry for his own retirement. But lo and behold, the man behind the madness is reappearing, with his sixth studio album, aptly titled "Relapse." As you can see from the cover (above), Em really doesn't seem like he's straying too far from his proven formula of pushing his over the top antics before his lyricism. While that may get dude love from MTV and the Billboard Charts, I'm not seeing the same Eminem that crushed heads with his rhyme schemes and wordplay on "Inifinite" or even "The Slim Shady LP." To tell you the truth, I think Em is going to have problems regaining his mojo after being out of the limelight and having drug problems. Perhaps "Relapse" is going to be a relapse back to the Em we all knew and loved (this Eminem seems way too skinny and does bad impressions). Only the album itself will be able to tell us that. For now, get yourself on these leaks, videos and a tracklisting for "Relapse," which drops on May 19th, though you might find a few copies floating around the interweb (go buy it, you cheap bastards).

Eminem - Dr. West (Skit)
Eminem - Insane
Eminem - Bagpipes from Baghdad
Eminem - My Mom

1. Dr. West (Skit)
2. 3am
3. My Mom
4. Insane
5. Bagpipes From Baghdad
6. Hello
7. Tonya (Skit)
8. Same Song & Dance
9. We Made You
10. Medicine Ball
11. Paul (Skit)
12. Stay Wide Awake
13. Old Time’s Sake f. Dr. Dre
14. Must Be The Ganja
15. Mr. Mathers
16. Deja Vu
17. Beautiful
18. Crack A Bottle f. Dr. Dre & 50 Cent
19. Steve Berman (Skit)
20. Underground/Ken Kaniff